Press Releases

News from EPI Media advisory: Paul Krugman, Sen. Chris Van Hollen, and Rep. Jan Schakowsky to keynote Taxing the (Very) Rich conference: Tax policy experts, activists, advocates, organizers, and elected officials will be make the case for taxing the ultra-wealthy

On Tuesday, June 25, the Economic Policy Institute and the Institute for Policy Studies will host a day-long conference on “Taxing the (Very) Rich.”

The conference will highlight the importance of taxing ultra-high earners to any serious effort to combat inequality and raise living standards for the vast majority. A prestigious group of policy experts and activists will discuss the necessity of raising taxes on the very rich, and debate various proposals for doing so.

Paul Krugman, Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), and Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) will deliver keynote addresses and Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.) will speak at a closing reception.

What: Taxing the (Very) Rich: Finding the Cure for Excessive Wealth Disorder

When: Tuesday, June 25th
9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m. Eastern
Registration begins at 8:30 a.m.

Where: The Mayflower Hotel
1127 Connecticut Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20036

Keynote addresses by:
Paul Krugman, City University of New York
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.)
Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.)

Speakers including:
Sarah Anderson, IPS
Shailly Gupta Barnes, Kairos Center and Poor People’s Campaign
Lily Batchelder, New York University School of Law
Josh Bivens, Economic Policy Institute
Heather Boushey, Washington Center for Equitable Growth
Frank Clemente, Americans for Tax Fairness
Chuck Collins, IPS
Alan Davis, WhyNot Initiative
Barbara Ehrenreich
Sarita Gupta, Jobs with Justice
Chye-Ching Huang, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Celinda Lake, Lake Research Partners
Thea Lee, Economic Policy Institute
Greg Leiserson, Washington Center for Equitable Growth
Nancy MacLean, Duke University
Ray Madoff, Boston College Law School
Jacqueline Patterson, NAACP Environmental & Climate Justice
Erica Payne, Patriotic Millionaires
Connie Razza, Center for Popular Democracy
Stephanie Taylor, Progressive Change Campaign Committee
Dorian Warren, Community Change
Valerie Wilson, EPI

To RSVP please email